top of page
  • Writer's pictureMoonlit Pomskys



The Five Freedoms was originally created in 1960 by the UK’s Farm Animal Welfare Council.

More than sixty years later these welfare needs are now a framework on how we should care for all animals, including our dogs.

The Five Freedoms are:

  • Freedom from hunger and thirst, by ready access to water and a diet to maintain health and vigour.

  • Freedom from discomfort, by providing an appropriate environment.

  • Freedom from pain, injury and disease, by prevention or rapid diagnosis and treatment.

  • Freedom to express normal behaviour, by providing sufficient space, proper facilities and appropriate company of the animal’s own kind.

  • Freedom from fear and distress, by ensuring conditions and treatment, which avoid mental suffering.


Five welfare needs can be found in the Animal Welfare Act 2006. Under the act the dogs owner is always responsible for the dogs needs.

The Five Welfare Needs are:

  • Need for a suitable environment

  • Need for a suitable diet

  • Need to be housed with, or apart from, other animals

  • Need to be able to exhibit normal behaviour patterns

  • Need to be protected from pain, suffering, injury and disease

78 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page